Darkness Falls by David MarkPrequel to the McAvoy Series


A haunting thriller full of creeping tension and darkness

A city united in grief.

A journalist ready to kill to keep his secrets. A copper capable of darker deeds than any of the murderers he puts away. An unworldly detective ready to do whatever it takes to save an innocent man. Welcome to Hull.

In this masterful prequel to the Sunday Times bestseller DARK WINTER, Detective Sergeant Aector McAvoy is the outsider who must confront his darkest fears while hunting a killer that nobody else believes in.

In a landscape at once tender and brutal, McAvoy must tread the path between the darkness and the light, before facing an enemy who will brand him for life. Set in Hull, 2011, DARKNESS FALLS invites readers to see where it all began for Aector McAvoy, in a dark, disturbing mystery thriller that will keep you reading late into the night.

‘I have loved this series of books featuring Aector McAvoy as the big Scottish detective since the beginning. This is a prequel taking us back to where it all began. The storyline, characters and pace of the action is just perfect.’ ALEX McROBERT


Darkness Falls
Also of Interest

  • The Origins of DARKNESS FALLSThe Origins of DARKNESS FALLS

    Best-selling author DAVID MARK lays bare the bleak origins of his latest novel, DARKNESS FALLS. Many years ago, in the midst of one of my bleaker depressive bouts, I took myself off on a walk to the Humber Bridge. I lived a couple of miles away and the forested area nearby was a favourite haunt of ...

    Continue reading >>